Scrambled Omelette: spinach, feta & spring onions

scrambled omelette: spinach, feta & spring onions

Image

Scrambled Omelette with a side of toast. Yum!

If there was an omelette island, the spinach and feta combo would be its king. Spinach and feta is a great combination in general, but I particularly like it with eggs. Feta cheese gives eggs the saltiness that they desperately desire and the spinach is fresh and mild. I added green onions because I like my eggs to have an onion-y flavor. I do think that on this occasion, the feta overpowered the green onions, so next time I will probably add more green onions to see if they hold their own a little better.

I have to confess that I am extremely picky about eggs. I only started eating eggs last year, and now I like them a lot… if they are cooked to my specifications. I like them well done and well seasoned so that they don’t taste eggy. If you like your eggs less well done then you should add the feta cheese when you add the eggs so that the eggs don’t overcook (See Step 6 below).

Despite my reggservations, I think eggs, in general, and this recipe can be used for breakfast, lunch or dinner (today I had it for lunch). One of my goals is to incorporate more protein into my diet (if it were possible to sustain myself on bread alone I would!) and eggs, full of protein, are a nice alternative to a boring old sandwich (despite being carbolicious—I really don’t like sandwiches. Don’t even get me started)! It also works well, because if you are a carboholic, like me, then you can indulge your craving by supplementing the meal with some toast. If I made this for dinner I might accompany it with some hash brown style potatoes, which are more substantial than toast. Should be delicious either way.

I suppose by now you’re wondering why I haven’t explained why I call this a “scrambled omelette”. The answer is simple: flipping omelettes isn’t one of my talents. I intend to practice, but today I was hungry and was in no mood to dither around the kitchen, attempting to make my eggs into a beautiful, well shaped omelette. Anyway you shake it, eggs are eggs and I don’t think eggs ever look that attractive. I typically cook my eggs scrambled style, it’s easier and it allows me to make sure my eggs are nice and well done. So I think of it as a scrambled omelette because the eggs are scrambled, but it has fun stuff in it, like an omelette.

Recipe:

2 tblspn extra virgin olive oil

2 large eggs

a drop of milk

2 spring onions (aka green onions or scallions)

handful of baby spinach leaves

hunk of feta

  1. Heat up olive oil in a frying pan to a medium heat, while the pan is heating up chop the spring onions finely. After this is done add spring onions to the pan.
  2. Roll the baby spinach leaves into a ball and slice with a chopping knife so that the spinach is cut into nice ribbons. The spring onions shouldn’t need too much attention, but give them a stir and shake every few minutes to make sure they don’t burn.
  3. If your feta cheese is not pre-crumbled, cut a chunk off and break up into crumbly pieces. Add spinach leaves to the pan with the spring onions. Mix together.
  4. In a separate bowl whisk your eggs, add milk and whisk again. The milk measurement should be approximately the same as what you would add to a cup of coffee.
  5. By this point the spinach leaves should have reduced considerably and you are ready to add the egg mixture. Stir the ingredients so that the spinach and spring onion is well mixed with the eggs. Let cook, stirring occasionally until the eggs have begun to solidfy.
  6. Once the eggs are semi-solid, add the feta cheese. Mix so that the feta is well interspersed with the other ingredients.
  7. Stir occasionally, as you would scrambled eggs. When the feta is melted into the eggs it is ready.

Happy Eating 🙂

Leave a Reply

