Cinnamon and Banana Crumble Muffins

Cinnamon and bananas is one of my favorite flavor combinations. I even contemplated it as a name for this blog because I love it so much! I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and I think it is really delicious. If you are skeptical, on allrecipes.com it has 5 stars and almost 7500 reviews. If almost 7500 people can agree something is delicious then it is probably worth investigating. Right?

I did tweak the recipe slightly…

I added 1 tsp vanilla extract and 3 tsp cinnamon to the muffin batter and in the muffin crumble used 1/4 tsp cinnamon instead of 1/8 tsp cinnamon. In my opinion the cinnamon was not at all overpowering, and gave a nice undercurrent of flavor to the muffins. If you aren’t hot for cinnamon then try the original recipe first. You can always spice things up next time.

In addition, I strongly recommend using very ripe bananas. The recipe does not specify this, but I am. If you use bananas that are not ripe enough your muffins will not have a strong and rich banana flavor. I once made banana bread (one of my all time favorite recipes, I will post it next time I make it) with yellow bananas without many spots… it wasn’t the same, trust me! Or don’t. Your choice entirely. Either way, if you have thoughts, a similar recipe or other recommendation let me know.

Happy Eating 🙂

Image

End result. Wish they rose a little bit more, but were very delicious!

Image

Ideal banana muffin/bread bananas. Penguin sticker: optional.

One response

  1. Pingback: Dinner Party: Browned Butter Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting | Chatterbox and the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

